Treat Me Like A Woman 

I am strong 

I am independent

I am brave

I am intelligent

I have been catcalled 

I have been harassed

I have been abused 

I have been told that if I didn’t give a boy, a boy, the time of day that he would end his life and it would be my fault. 

Yes, my fault

I am told by society that’s how it is.

I am told by strangers that’s how it is.

I am told by family that’s how it is. 

I am told by the large groups of ignorance that that is the world and I have to endure this because that is how boys are and I am just a woman.
I am strong 

I am independent

I am brave

I am intelligent

And I am human 

And your equal 

And I expected to be treated as 

a woman.

Leave a Reply

